Yosemite National Park

I went on a trip to California in mid-October, and to be honest I am not very fond of California. This is mostly due to the fact that it can be very hot and dry, and also many of the cities I’ve visited are either not walkable or too busy for my liking. That being said, one of my favorite places is Yosemite National Park. I stayed in the park for 1 night, 2 days in one of the cabins. What I liked about this trip was that I was completely plugged off, because there was no internet connection inside the park, and I decided to save my money and not pay for wifi at the cabin. It was a good way for me to take a break from my world and explore nature. I went on a guided tour (with a bit of hiking at the end) the first day, and biked around the park the next morning.

img_5002
El Capitan

img_5047

img_5078
Yosemite Valley
img_5114
Panoramic view of Yosemite from Sentinel Dome.
img_5077
Made a small stop in Ahwahnee Hotel, the first hotel in the park, to see this beautiful dining room.

Throughout this trip I learned just how much time I waste in the world inside my phone, instead of looking up and basking in the wonders of the real world. I think John Muir said it best:

 “I am losing precious days. I am degenerating into a machine for making money. I am learning nothing in this trivial world of men. I must break away and get out into the mountains to learn the news.” – John Muir

Leave a Reply

