San Francisco: City by the Bay

As Tony Bennet’s smooth, deep voice croons in my ear, I find myself unable to relate to his sentiments about the City by the Bay. San Francisco is a big, bustling city, for a petite and quiet person like me. San Francisco is windy and warm, while I am used to the gloomy,  rainy days of Seattle. San Francisco is eccentric and colorful, and I am a standard-issue millennial, with a wardrobe that mostly consists of blacks, blues, and grays. San Francisco, in short, is quite the opposite of what I am. So as I took a step out of the tour bus and towards one of the most famous bridges in the world, I breathed in the ocean air and wondered which part of the city would successfully tug at my heartstrings.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
The Golden Gate Bridge

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that the fastest route to my heart, is through my stomach. San Francisco and I have this in common: we love good seafood. You can find seafood everywhere in SF. There is a variety of restaurants you can visit while walking though Fisherman’s Wharf and inside the Ferry Building to where there is a marketplace. Around the area, you can also find Boudin Bakery, famous for its sourdough bread and clam chowder. One of Boudin’s locations has a museum where you can learn about its history in San Francisco. My favorite restaurant though, has to be Scoma’s which is located in Fisherman’s Wharf and Sausalito, a small city in the Bay Area you can visit by ferry or car. I visited the Sausalito location, and I have to say that I enjoyed not only my meal, but also the atmosphere there. It’s quite a small restaurant, but the service and food are excellent.

 

 

San Francisco and I also share a love for art, and I spent nearly half a day going through the 7 floors of the SFMOMA. The design of the building is quite unique, and there is plenty of great art showcased.

I spent the rest of my time in San Francisco just strolling around the city, and sightseeing. Mission District is an artsy neighborhood where you can walk around, have some coffee, and walk in and out of the unique shops. I also loved the shops at Ghirardelli Square, and (coming back to the food) don’t forget to get some chocolate (they are cheaper here) and try their famous Sundaes while you’re there.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Ghirardelli Marketplace

Another neighborhood to take note of is Lombard Street, it’s a quirky, crooked street packed with tourist cars and selfie sticks. I walked from the bottom to the top, and then proceeded to call an Uber to drive down the zig-zag for the sheer hell of it.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
From the top of Lombard Street

As for the sights, San Francisco is not afraid to show itself off, offering a couple of places where you can see the whole city. Ultimately, I chose to go to Twin Peaks to take some panoramic photos of the city to mark the ending of my trip.

img_5241
Twin Peaks

Did I enjoy my trip to San Francisco? Yes. Would I ever live there? Probably not. But I certainly would not mind going back for a visit. I may not have left my heart in the City by the Bay, but it certainly has left a cholesterol shaped imprint on my heart.

 

2 thoughts on “San Francisco: City by the Bay

Leave a Reply

