Vance Creek Bridge

The Vance Creek Bridge is the 2nd tallest railway arch bridge in the United States, and has become one of my favorite places to visit in the Pacific Northwest. It was originally built and used by the logging industry, but it is now located on private property/. I have had the privilege of visiting the bridge on two different occasions. There is a sense of excitement that comes with the thrill of trespassing on private property, and to top it off, you have to overcome your fear of heights to enjoy the bridge in all of its glory.

Imagine walking along this extremely tall bridge, with the knowledge that it is a fairly old bridge, and there are no safety nets, or railings. But the view and the experience is absolutely worth it. Just think about it, there is something for all kinds of adventurers to enjoy. There’s the historical aspect of it. The architecture and engineering aspect. The photography aspect of it. For me, it’s all of the above, and just the fact that I was able to share that moment with some of my favorite people.

IMG_1685

At first I was skeptical, because a lot of things are just so sensationalized; the pictures might be better than the real thing. There isn’t a trail, so you have to carefully walk through and find your own way. But when you get there, your eyes will be blessed with the view. I just wanted to read a book and stay there for as long as I could. Or take a nap on one of those days where you can feel the warmth of the sun, but it’s covered by the clouds, so it would not be too hot.

IMG_2013

Unfortunately, many of the visitors to the bridge do not really care about maintaining the area, so you might find litter scattered everywhere. The last thing I heard was that they’re taking the bridge apart, which is such a shame because it has a historical value, and it really adds character to the place. I’m not sure what’s going on with it as of now, but I sure hope that it stays around.

2 thoughts on “Vance Creek Bridge

    1. Hi Brittany. I went to the bridge around summer of 2016. I last heard that it is being taken apart. I have no idea what’s going on with it right now, but I’m not sure you can visit it… Good luck though 🙂 thank you for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

