NYC Day 1: Welcome to New York

New York City is my favorite city. It seems like a cliché, because that’s just what everyone says. But I truly, truly believe that anyone who goes to NYC should let themselves fall in love with it. Perhaps one’s first impressions of the city aren’t the best, maybe you find it too dirty, too crowded, and it may seem dangerous, but just give it some time, and it’ll have a special place in your heart. I say this because there’s something for everyone to enjoy in New York City. The Hipsters, the Theater Geeks, the Architecture Students, the Museum Lovers, the Loners, and the Foodies. The list just goes on and on and on. It’s a city that makes me feel independent, because it’s just so walkable, and the subway stations are everywhere. This is something you can’t do in LA, it’s always too hot and too far away to walk.

I first visited New York City when I was around 9 or 10 years old, that was 12 years ago, and I just found myself enjoying getting lost in the Big Apple (not literally). I got to watch my first Broadway show (The Phantom of the Opera) on Broadway. Saw Lady Liberty. Ordered Pizza by myself in English for the first time. Watched as the adults shopped and shopped at Bloomingdale’s. And tried to think of all the FRIENDS references I could come up with.

For the past few years I had been wanting to visit New York again, but never quite got around to doing it. Summer of last year (2016), I finally went on a spontaneous trip to the city that never sleeps. Of course, that means I have to get no sleep as well, so I took a red-eye flight from Seattle to New York City, got CityPass, and decided that it might be fun to do all the touristy things.

I think I’ve rambled enough for now, so here is a list of all the things I did on the first day:

  1. Landed in JFK
    I landed early in the morning, and proceeded to purchase the 7-day Metro pass. Then I took the train from JFK to the Financial District where the hotel was. After checking in, I let my stomach guide me (as always), and going with the whole touristy theme, I had Shake Shack for breakfast.
  2. Whitney Museum of American Art
    After breakfast, I headed straight to the Whitney Museum of American Art. Personally, I don’t know a lot about American Art, but I enjoyed the sculpture (which is normally not something I enjoy a lot) and photography in the museum. Also, there is a discount if you bring your Student ID.

     

  3. The High Line
    Right in front of the museum is the High Line, it’s a linear park filled with greenery, and there’s a small marketplace towards the end of it where you can chill and grab some snacks.

    IMG_3954
    View from Highline
  4. Oculus
    As we headed back to the hotel, I visited the WTC Transportation Hub, where you can find Oculus – work of Santiago Calatrava. It’s really a cool and intricate work of architecture. The building is quite new, and if you’re into architecture, it is definitely a must-see.

    Occulus
    Inside the Oculus
  5. Dinner & Bedtime
    The exhaustion of the first day took it’s toll, and before I knew it, it was time for dinner already, after which it was time to retire to the hotel room.
Leave a Reply

